I love steak.

I love steak more than just any other food.

A great piece of meat, seasoned well and cooked to a perfect medium-rare is like a small view of heaven to me. Maybe that seems a little extreme to some people, but it makes me so very happy.

The other day, I was flipping through my Jamie Oliver Jamie’s Food Revolution cookbook (one of my favorites!) and saw this steak recipe. I thought it looked great, so I decided to tweak it and try it. So very glad I did! I served this with some great asparagus (recipe to come) and some store bought bruschetta.  So yummy, and the colors were absolutely beautiful too.

Spanish Style Steaks

  • 2 beef filets
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Smoked Paprika
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 2 red bell peppers
  • 1 lemon

Heat a grill pan to very hot. Generously sprinkle steaks with salt, pepper, and smoked paprika. Drizzle with olive oil, and rub the steaks to get well coated in oil and spices.

Cut bell peppers in quarters, removing all innards.

Cut one end off of the garlic clove.

Once the pan is smoking slightly, put steaks and peppers on it (note: might want to open a window at this point. Hello smoke!). Every minute or so flip peppers and steaks. Each time you flip the steaks, rub them with garlic clove, and press down.

I cooked ours for about 4-5 minutes, then removed to a plate to rest. This resulted in a perfectly juicy medium rare steak. I cooked the peppers for probably another 5 minutes at least, until softened and starting to char nicely. Remove these to a plate and drizzle with olive oil.

To serve, slice the well rested steak thinly against the grain. Drizzle with lemon juice, and serve with peppers.

