The boy has been out of town on business all week, so I decided to take advantage of that fact and make something with loads of dairy. This was pretty much the perfect recipe to accomplish that. I’ve always loved alfredo, typically poured from a jar, but once I started making my own, there was no going back.

The recipe really couldn’t be easier

Fettuccine Alfredo

  • Heavy cream
  • Butter
  • Parmesan (the good stuff)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Fresh nutmeg (optional)
  • Pasta (Fettuccine really is best)

Put a pot of salted water on to boil for the pasta.

Melt the butter in a saucepan, then add an equal amount of cream. Add pepper and nutmeg to taste, then a little salt (Parmesan is pretty salty). Heat until barely simmering. Turn heat off and put grated Parmesan in. I typically add about half the amount of cheese as cream/butter. Stir around to melt the cheese, and let sit.

Cook pasta according to directions. Taste the sauce to see if it needs any more salt, then add the noodles to the pan. Toss is all together, then sprinkle on a little more cheese, just because you can. If the sauce is too thick, pour in a little pasta water.

I’d like to say that I ate a salad with this, but I didn’t. Just lots and lots of pasta.

